设计传奇

我们的故事

Scroll down for more content.

我们的故事

  1. 品牌初创

    1890年,荷兰移民Siebe Baker初创家具制作公司,从门窗定制开始点滴积累,挺过了最艰难的三年光景。1893年,Siebe Baker尝试自行设计家具,凝聚心血的第一件组合式书桌和书柜,一炮而红,其设计在当时颇受欢迎。1910年,毕业于密西根大学的Hollis S. Baker,加入了父亲的公司,成为一位家具销售顾问。

    品牌初创
  2. 现代主义运动时期

    1925年,Hollis Baker在接手父亲的毕生心血后,以独到眼光推进整体家具品位,坚持传统手工打磨,并首度与著名设计师合作,其中包括舞台设计师Joseph Urban,以及著名的现代风格设计师Kem Weber,创造出风靡一时的传世佳作,成为美国现代主义运动时期的先驱。 作为古董家具再生产的开创者,Baker于1932年首创古董家具再生产,将欧洲古老世界的贵族风采重现于世,那些华美富丽的顶级之作此前仅在英国等地的古堡宫殿中依稀可寻,Baker以独一无二的高尚品位成为当代经典的缔造者。两年后,Baker又将中国现代风格家具引入美国。

    现代主义运动时期
  3. 创新的年代

    Hollis Baker于上世纪四十年代创建了Baker家具博物馆,将全球上千件珍稀古典家具纳入麾下。 1949年,Baker推出远东系列,成为首个在美生产的亚洲家具系列。次年,Baker经过对古董原件的长期钻研,推出了首个意大利新古典主义风格的Palladian系列。 1951年,本着美观、简约、实用的风格,Baker推出了丹麦建筑师Finn Juhl设计的斯堪的纳维亚现代家具。1957年,Baker收购了Grand Rapids座椅公司,推出其附牌Milling Road,致力于生产外观更简洁、价位较低的家具产品。

    创新的年代
  4. 蓬勃发展的年代

    1961年,Hollis M. Baker成为了公司的总裁,他洞察到了美国奢侈品市场的消费力,并推出了极具收藏价值的精品家具。同时,Baker又在北卡增设新的工厂,致力于打造业界最高品质的家具产品。 在其此后的十几年间,Baker陆续推出了英式及法式乡村风格家具,其中也包括高端的办公桌。1969年,通过与Bedford公爵夫妇的合作,Baker重现了公爵在Woburn Abbey庄园(英国七大宝藏庄园之一)里的家具产品。 1972年,Baker通过收购合并,成立了作为业界最大销售商之一的Baker Knapp & Tubbs公司。 一年后,Baker在北卡的高点市新增工厂,开始生产软包家具。 1976年,Baker推出了Historic Charleston系列。该系列从最富有和最具国际化的殖民资本中吸取了最时尚的设计元素。

    蓬勃发展的年代
  5. 卓越设计的王国

    1980年,意大利先锋设计师Alessandro Gambrielli Gambalogna为Baker设计了25款风格前卫的起居室及餐厅家具。一年后,Baker推出了具有里程碑意义的Stately Homes古堡系列。该系列重现了精品古董的设计元素,如同贵族首次亮相公众场合一样引起轰动,那些原件家具仍被保存在各大古堡中。 此后,1984年推出的John Saladino系列的大获成功,也再次巩固了Baker同全球顶尖设计师的合作关系。 1986年科勒公司正式收购Baker家具,并成立了室内设计集团。此后推出了McMillen系列、欧陆风格家具产品及Art Deco风格的Charles Pfister系列。 1990年,Milling Road作为独立品牌,再次推出新品,以其悠闲宜居的设计风格及亲民的价格,广受好评。同年,Baker具有标志性的“789号”Chippendale座椅荣幸入展华盛顿Smithsonian博物馆中的美国历史馆。1996年,Baker推出优雅别致的Barbara Barry系列,其设计灵感主要来自于新古典主义以及30年代好莱坞风格。

    卓越设计的王国
  6. 携手顶尖设计师,Baker足迹遍布全球

    进入二十一世纪以后,Baker继续引进著名现代设计师的新设计理念,其中包括同Bill Sofield、Thomas Pheasant、Laura Kirar、Michael S Smith、Jacques Garcia等杰出设计师的合作。同时,Baker也继续对古典产品进行翻新。2005年,Baker推出了源于欧洲经典设计的收藏家系列。2008年及2009年,Baker分别推出了 Tony Duquette及Andre Arbus系列。 在美国,Baker一直是深受好莱坞名流钟爱的家具品牌,并在2011年及2013年,世界知名的《Architectural Digest》杂志携手Baker共同为奥斯卡VIP休息室做室内设计,不仅如此,Baker还连续三年为时装周上的奔驰VIP休息室提供家具。 至今,Baker足迹遍布全球,在巴黎、莫斯科、新加坡及中国众多城市均设有Baker展厅。

    携手顶尖设计师,Baker足迹遍布全球
发现我们的设计师们及系列 浏览
Baker家具 ©Baker家具 2019 | 请到官方指定展厅购买Baker正品,严厉杜绝复制品赝品

Design Legacy

Our Story

Scroll down for more content.

Our story

  1. The Early Years

    Siebe Baker, an immigrant from the Netherlands, founds an interior woodwork and door company in 1890 in Allegan, MI, just west of Grand Rapids. The company makes its first piece of furniture three years later, a combination desk and bookcase. Hollis S. Baker, son of Siebe Baker, graduates from the University of Michigan in 1910 and joins Baker Furniture as a salesman.

    The Early Years
  2. The Modern Movement and More

    1920s and 30s

    Baker ventures into Modernism with its Art Deco “Twentieth Century Shop,” introduced in 1925 and including several pieces designed by Donald Deskey. Hollis Baker becomes the company’s president upon his father’s death. Baker launches bedroom furniture from stage designer Joseph Urban and select furniture by noted modernist Kem Weber in 1927, leading the debut of the Modern movement in the U.S. The company introduces its Manor House collection, the first great furniture reproduction program in America, in 1932. The designs are mainly English, crafted by experts hand-picked from Europe. Two years later, Baker introduces Chinese Modern furniture to Americans at the Chicago World’s Fair.

    The Modern Movement and More
  3. An Era of Firsts

    1940s and 50s

    In 1941, more than 1,500 antiques collected by Hollis S. Baker are formally organized and placed on display, comprising one of the largest private furniture collections in the world. Baker introduces the Far East Collection, the first truly Asian furniture collection manufactured in the U.S., in 1949. The next year, the company popularizes Italian neoclassic design with the introduction of its first Palladian Collection, based on exhaustive study of countless museum originals. Acclaimed designer Finn Juhl partners with Baker in 1951 on the first Danish Modern furniture collection for the American market. In 1957, Baker acquires the Grand Rapids Chair Co. and begins to produce an assortment of simpler, less costly furniture under the Milling Road label.

    An Era of Firsts
  4. An Era of Expansion

    1960s and 70s

    Hollis M. Baker becomes the company’s president in 1961, finding new niches in the luxury market and introducing a wealth of new collections. Baker opens a new manufacturing facility in Mockville, NC, in an effort to create the industry’s highest-quality production-made furniture. Introductions during the 1960s and 1970s included collections of country English and French Provincial furniture, as well as high-end executive desks. Collection highlights include Woburn Abbey, introduced in 1969, featuring 25 choice English antiques of the home of the Duke and Duchess of Bedford. Baker merges with a leading showroom network in 1972 to form Baker, Knapp & Tubbs, which remains one of the largest wholesale distributors in the industry. A year later, it enters the upholstery business with a new plant and division located in High Point, NC. The company launches the Historic Charleston Collection in 1976, drawing inspiration from one of the most fashionable and furniture-forward capitals of the New World.

    An Era of Expansion
  5. A World of Great Design

    1980 to 2000

    In 1980, innovative Italian interior designer Alessandro Gambrielli Gambalogna creates a collection of approximately 25 avant garde occasional and dining room items simply known as Alessandro. A year later, Baker launched its Stately Homes Collection, with reproductions from originals found in celebrated castles and estates in the United Kingdom. The positive reception of John Saladino’s 1984 Façade Collection launch reaffirms the importance of Baker’s work with top designers around the world. Kohler Co. acquires Baker Furniture from North American Phillips in 1986, making it the cornerstone of its Interiors Group. The late ‘80s mark significant debuts, including the McMillen Collection, continental furniture drawn from the archives the much heralded New York design firm, and the Charles Pfister Collection of Art Deco furniture. Milling Road is re-introduced as a division of Baker in 1990, offering less formal, more livable furniture at a lower price point. That same year, the Smithsonian inducts the #798 Chippendale Chair into its permanent collection. In 1996, Baker introduces the Barbara Barry Collection, featuring furniture from the California-based artist and designer that draws on 30’s Hollywood glamour.

    A World of Great Design
  6. Design Collaborations, Global Openings

    2000 to 2015

    During this decade, Baker debuts collections from a series of celebrated designers, including Bill Sofield, Thomas Pheasant, Laura Kirar, Michael S Smith and Jacques Garcia. In 2005, Baker launches Collector’s Edition, inspired by classic European designs, and in 2008 and 2009, extraordinary collections from design luminaries Tony Duquette and Andre Arbus. Hollywood royalty experiences Baker elegance firsthand when the company is asked to furnish the Green Rooms for the Academy Awards presentations in 2011 and 2013. During this same period, the company provides furniture for a VIP lounge at Mercedes Benz Fashion Week three years running. This later era marks a flurry of international showroom openings: in Paris, Moscow, Singapore and three cities in China.

    Design Collaborations, Global Openings
Stay up to date on the latest from Baker Furniture. Subscribe to our newsletter